Brainerd Memorial Library
920 SAYBROOK ROAD, HADDAM, CT 06438     P:860.345.2204

login to my account

Adults

BML offers regular programs like Book Clubs, Knitting & Writing groups and Technical Help as well as special programs for many different interests.  View our programs below. If you don’t see something that strikes your fancy – Please Ask!

ComputerHelp

One-on-One Computer Help!

FRIDAY AFTERNOONS 2:00-5pm

 

JobNowoct2016jobnow

Adult Coloring: Drop-in

Coloring Club Design - Copy - Copy

Ask Staff for Supplies

Monthly Board Game Nights

Board room

 Book Clubs and Groups


healthy-ex-logo Healthy Exchange

1st Wednesdays 6:30 pm

Healthy Exchange Book Club is on hiatus for July & August.

Enjoy reading about health, nutrition, fitness, & emotional wellness? Would you like to share details with other like-minded individuals? Please join the Healthy Exchange Book Club!

These are the last 3 titles for 2017.      2017 Healthy Exchange Brochure

 


Brainerd Book Club

 4th Wednesdays 6:30 pm

June 28th: The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and their Quest for Gold at the 1036 Berlin Olympics by Daniel J. Brown

The inspiration for the PBS documentary “The Boys of ‘36”

Boys in boatFor readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate account of how 9 working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics what true grit really meant.

The team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington’s 8-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet they did, going on to shock the world by defeating the German team rowing for Adolf Hitler. The emotional heart of the tale lies with Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not only to regain his shattered self-regard but also to find a place for himself in the world. Drawing on the boys’ journals and vivid memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, Brown has created an unforgettable portrait of an era, a celebration of a remarkable achievement, and a chronicle of one extraordinary young man’s personal quest.


July 26: Whistling in the Dark by Leslie Kagan

It was the summer on Vliet Street when we all started locking our doors…

Sally O’Malley made a promise to her daddy before he died. She swore she’d look after her sister, Troo. Keep her safe. But like her Granny always said-actions speak louder than words. Now, during the summer of 1959, the girls’ mother is hospitalized, their stepfather has abandoned them for a six pack, and their big sister, Nell, is too busy making out with her boyfriend to notice that Sally and Troo are on the Loose. And so is a murderer and molester.

Highly imaginative Sally is pretty sure of two things. Who the killer is. And that she’s next on his list. Now she has no choice but to protect herself and Troo as best she can, relying on her own courage and the kindness of her neighbors.


 Charity Knitting Group

Join us in as we “Knit for Charity.” We work with Middlesex Hospital; knit pink scyarnarves for breast cancer patients, chemo caps, newborn and preemie caps, finger puppets for children, and serenity shawls.
We ababyBootieslso knit for Haddam Public Health and for the VFW. We make warm scarves for those who need them and hats to be worn under helmets for our soldiers in Iraq and Afghanistan. If you’re unable to join us on the 1st Tuesday of the month at 6:30 PM, stop in any time. We will happily accept your donations. For more information, call us at 860-345-2204.

Friends of BML

Thursdays at 10:00 AM

In the Community Room
You do not need to attend the Thursday meetings to be a Friend.
Please join us, all are welcome!


LATEST NEWS & RELEASES Join the email newsletter

Summer Reading

FROM “READ IT FORWARD” Books to Inspire Your Summer Vacation Summer can be the perfect time to go on vacation—longer Read More

Pre-Publication Alerts!

New and Recent Releases by Popular Authors  The House Among the Trees by Julia Glass In Julia Glass’s 5th book Read More

View All Articles